Dreaming of Wanderlust

Augustine

“Two years he walks the Earth. No phone, no pool, no pets, no cigarettes. Ultimate freedom. An extremist. An aesthetic voyager whose home is the road. Escaped from Atlanta. Thou shalt not return, ’cause “the West is the best.” And now after two rambling years comes the final and greatest adventure. The climactic battle to kill the false being within and victoriously conclude the spiritual revolution. Ten days and nights of freight trains and hitchhiking bring him to the great white north. No longer to be poisoned by civilization he flees, and walks alone upon the land to become lost in the wild.”- Chris Mccandless, Into the Wild

Into the Wild is one my favorite stories of all time. It as inspired my thinking about traveling and seeing the world so much. Because of his story, it has encouraged me to see what’s out there and to have the time of my life. My heart is always going to go out to him because he did what his heart desired, although he made a tragic mistake in the end. It truly breaks my heart that he didn’t survive his adventure in Alaska, I wish so bad that he could have lived. It is crazy, how much I wish he could have made it! Seriously, one of the most touching books I have ever read and the movie really does speak to my soul. Highly recommend watching and reading that book, you guys. I will be quoting many more things from it within my blog.

“Nothing is more damaging to the adventurous spirit within a man than a secure future. The very basic core of a man’s living spirit is his passion for adventure. The joy of life comes from our encounters with new experiences, and hence there is no greater joy than to have an endlessly changing horizon, for each day to have a new and different sun.”

― Jon KrakauerInto the Wild

I feel this pull, this urge, this desire constantly pulling at me each and everyday. When I sleep at night, my dreams are filled with being on the road, traveling to new places, meeting new people, basically living a better life. It is actually getting ridiculous, yet I look forward to sleep for this reason. I dream of being on the move, wandering around without a destination.
Wanderlust is defined as:
-a strong desire to travel.
-strong longing for or impulse toward wandering
-very strong or irresistible impulse to travel
In reality, my desire is to the travel the world and leave society behind me along with all the man-made things I don’t really need. I mean of course, I would bring along a telephone, camera, laptop, journal and especially money and a car but that is ONLY because these things are necessary to document my journey and help me survive. I would love to be able to not need money but it is inevitable. I guess in a way man-made things would benefit me but I don’t need an excess of clothes, jewelry, shoes, or other random things. If I could have a life on the road, it would be my dream come true. If I could travel from continent to continent and never be in the same place too long it would be wonderful. It could be heaven on Earth to take  adventures to places I never even knew existed, to visit islands surrounded by the beautiful ocean, to live in a new paradise everyday for the rest of my life.

“The joy of life comes from our encounters with new experiences, and hence there is no greater joy than to have an endlessly changing horizon, for each day to have a new and different sun.” -Christopher McCandless

When I think about taking this imaginary journey, it warms my heart, and lights my soul on fire. It really gets me going and wanting to see what is out there. I need to be out in nature, I need to walk in the forests, climb mountains, swim in the oceans, hike trails to see waterfalls. I desire to be a nomad of this land but I understand that is it only but a dream. I need money first for supplies, food, gas, gear, etc. I would have to build strength, endurance, and speed in order to conquer the world’s unseen mysteries. I would have to gain knowledge of the land, animals, and plants. I would have to learn about geography, climate, and the weather of everywhere I planned to go. I would need a companion, a partner, a friend, hopefully even a lover to accompany me in this dream of mine. “Happiness is only real when shared.” -Christopher McCandless
“And I also know how important it is in life not necessarily to be strong but to feel strong. To measure yourself at least once. To find yourself at least once in the most ancient of human conditions. Facing the blind death stone alone, with nothing to help you but your hands and your own head. “-Mccandlees
I am so passionate about this idea of traveling that I think the only thing that would make sense would be to go for it in the smartest way possible. I have decided I am going to get a job once I am able, save all my money and then take a trip somewhere and give in to this desire. It has been like 5 years, I have had this topic just weighing on my mind but things have been holding me back. For instance, I met someone, fell in love and planned a life with them instead. In reality, this is my purpose, this is the ONLY thing that is going to satisfy me and this is my key to true happiness.
3 thoughts on “Dreaming of Wanderlust”

Leave a Reply

