Attitude is Everything

“The longer I live, the more I realize the impact of attitude on life. Attitude, to me, is more important than facts. It is more important than the past, the education, the money, than circumstances, than failure, than successes, than what other people think or say or do. It is more important than appearance, giftedness or skill. It will make or break a company… a church… a home. The remarkable thing is we have a choice everyday regarding the attitude we will embrace for that day. We cannot change our past… we cannot change the fact that people will act in a certain way. We cannot change the inevitable. The only thing we can do is play on the one string we have, and that is our attitude. I am convinced that life is 10% what happens to me and 90% of how I react to it. And so it is with you… we are in charge of our attitudes.” – Charles R. Swindol

 

Attitude is everything. I have learned that the hard way. I used to have a bitchy attitude when something didn’t go my way or someone did something rude to me. I am trying to change the way I react to situations in life. There is no room for negative emotions in my life. I would rather not deal with negativity, period. I really do not like being around people who can not control their emotions. Therefore their emotions cause them to have a shitty attitude. You control how you act and react to things that happen to you. Nobody else has this kind of power over you. I continue to fight with this fact because it is so easy to blame someone else. For example, how many times have you heard someone say, “He/she ruined my mood.” In all honestly, it is up to you to control your mood. Of course, us woman have a harder time due to our hormones but honestly it is still very much possible to control ourselves. I usually apologize if I am acting rude or bitchy to someone. If more people around us actually had positive attitudes and learned to let the negative emotions go, the world would be a better place. I believe people need to learn to forgive and let go of past problems with people. If they do not, that anger/hurt will only built up more causing it to be that much worse.

I refuse to allow someone to put me in a bad mood. I have to control myself in order to be a better person and also a better employee. Serving tables is not an easy task, and dealing with people all day can get frustrating real quick. In the end, remember who you are and stay true to yourself. Be positive and you will see how your life changes.

Leave a Reply

