Happiness Over Everything

There comes a point in your life where you have to decide what is most important to you. I choose happiness over everything.

For the past seven months, I was working in the kitchen as a pantry chef at this well-known restaurant. The pay was great, the environment was okay sometimes, and I could do whatever I wanted. Such as come in late, eat anything there, joke around with employees, make new menu items. It was great for like the first two or three months. Then, it seemed like it was one thing after another that was causing me stress. I decided last Saturday, that I had no other choice, but to quit. It seemed like the best ultimate decision for my personal happiness.

The environment was mainly always negative, people’s attitude’s were bitter and unhelpful. Slowly, I started to dread going to work. I would walk into work in the best mood and leave feeling drained and stressed out. I finally decided that it was enough. I had previously wanted to put in my two-week notice, but the owner talked me out of it. Sometimes you have to do what is best for you, and not worry about what affect your actions may have on others. I am so empathetic and I truly care about other people. I know by leaving, that it is going to make things harder on everyone else. That has been bothering me ever since I sent the message. I need to come to terms with things right now, and let the whole situation go.

1) Happiness over everything.

2) I have to do what is best for me.

3) The cons outweigh the pros.

4) I was wasting my potential there.

5) The owner didn’t seem to appreciate me or my extra efforts.

6) I have another job on the weekends, that alone will allow me to pay my rent.

I feel like being in a bad, abusive job environment has the same feelings as being in an unhealthy relationship with someone. It’s like you always want to leave, but you stay thinking things will get better. People may change. It is only bad today, it will be better tomorrow type of attitude. The truth is, if you are unhappy with someone, or something, change it. End of story. There is no waiting around, things can get better, but the odds are not in your favor. Always have a back-up plan. That is why I picked up a second job, because I knew I was on the edge of quitting this one. In the end, your happiness is more important than any paycheck, yet money will make your life better in some aspects. It is quite the dilemma when you are thinking about quitting a job that makes good money. Just like relationships, there are plenty of other people in the world, and there are plenty of jobs to go around. Raise your standards and be happy with everything you do in life.

Now, that my advice is out of the way. I feel much more relaxed about the situation. Now, I can focus more on my personal journey. Last year, I was realizing what I needed to do to change my life. This year is about applying it to my life.

Leave a Reply

