Uncertainty

I think what bothers me most about life is the fact that nothing is ever set in stone. It bothers me, because at any given time my world as I know it could be turned upside down. I used to think that being comfortable in life was the most important thing. You know, graduate, get a job, a house, start a family, live the American dream. Right? Isn’t that what this life is about? I don’t think that is what life is about anymore. How could you ever allow yourself to become that comfortable? I don’t think you should and here’s why.

Life is all about uncertainty. Taking chances. Risking yourself. Believing in the unknown.

If you are married with kids, I’m sure you have some level of certainly and trust in your marriage and lifestyle. That would be the only natural way to be. Of course, you want to believe that everything is going to go the way you want them to. It makes it much easier to get caught up in the illusion that things are always going to be the way they are right now. But, in reality things could change any day, and life as we know it simply won’t exist anymore.

I think as humans, we must face the ultimate truth. Nothing in this world is permanent. Change will always happen for better or for worst, it is inevitable. I have decided it is time for me to be okay with change and uncertainty. I can not continue living my life in my head, based around an idea. I don’t think I should continue to be comfortable in an aspect of my life. Anything could happen at any moment, and that scares me.

I am thriving for myself to get to a point where I am okay with life. A point where if something happens, I will be fine with change. I must always expect the unexpected, instead of convincing myself my life will be a certain way and with a particular person. The truth is you never know. Especially when you are sharing your life with someone else in a relationship. You don’t have any idea what is going through their mind at any given time. Same with family, friends, or spouses.

When you go to a job interview, you don’t think about all the negative things that may happen. Like, once your hired you will be treated like crap, or that the manager will treat you differently because you are a woman. You don’t expect things to be bad, because it is normal to want to the best in any situation.

When you get into a relationship with another person, you shouldn’t think about all the bad things that may happen. You don’t consider that your heart may be broken. Once you fall in love with them, you expect things to always be that way. The truth is relationships may not always last. That is a hard pill to swallow, especially when you have invested so much of your time, feelings, and energy into a person.

When you are born into a family, you expect everyone to love you and accept you for who you are. You look at those people as the only ones that really matter. Then, one day your dad decides he doesn’t want to be apart of the family anymore. He leaves and you never see him again. You never expected this person to leave you behind, because he was your family.

Life doesn’t always work the way we want it. We don’t always get what we want. People don’t always stick around in our lives.

I’m not saying live your life and never be happy. I just think it is important to never allow yourself to get caught up in the idea that something is forever. I think everyone should always think about the worst in situations and have that in the back of their minds. With that being said, don’t always dwell on it though. That is the tough part, at least for me. I can get so caught up in thinking the worst, that I fail to be happy in the good moments. I think most people forget that things will change, because we are so happy and excited about how things are going, We fail to accept that they may not always be that way.

Life is full of up and down times. I think it is important to prepare yourself mentality by accepting that bad things are going to always happen. It may sound crazy, but at least when something unexpected happens, you have already told yourself that you are going to be okay with it. Therefore, in my opinion it is easier to deal with.

Appreciate every moment you spend with someone, because they may not always be apart of your life.

Learn the most you can from any experience and allow those things to make you a better, wiser person.

Thrive to be your own individual person, find your dream, focus on yourself, because you are the only guarantee you have in this life.

Leave a Reply

