Why Not Just Move?

For years and years I have contemplated the idea of traveling around the world. For the longest time, I thought that it simply wasn’t realistic. Negative thinking was hard at play, my thoughts were telling me that I would never make enough money to be able to afford it, that place is too far away, etc. My fear to be alone stood in the way for the longest portion of my life. I didn’t want to leave the house alone and now I am considering traveling solo. I have sure come a long way from where I started out when I first thought about traveling. I did a culinary project on Northwestern cuisine and by doing so, I was exposed to Washington and Oregon. I came across scenic photographs of the Oregon forests, waterfalls, coast, and mountains while researching the cuisine. This was nearly four years ago! I told myself I would take a trip there eventually, but I soon became distracted by other goals and wishes. I forgot all about my Northwest dream, until the past couple of months. I kept saying, and saying I was going to take a huge trip to the Northwest next year. So, today I decided to start researching what I would do there. Everything was popping out to me. Rose gardens, waterfalls, coffee shops, restaurants. I started typing up everything I was discovering, when suddenly I realized something! How am I going to be able to do everything I want to do just by visiting for a couple of weeks? I thought about this for a bit, and kept browsing more and more websites. I began thinking to myself, there is nearly 6 coffee shops I want to go to, how the hell would I ever fit that in? I need to just live there, but I am not there. Hmmm. The trip is going to take at least 4-5 days just for the travel to get there and to get back home. So, I thought about it some more. Why not just move there? Seriously. Then, it clicked. This is what I have to do. I won’t be satisfied until it happens. That would be my ULTIMATE adventure. Moving somewhere brand new. Starting out fresh.

I already have 1500 dollars saved up for this trip, so I’m going to start putting back everything I make for this decision. At this point, I have no idea where my life is going and this may be what I need to get my life going in the direction I want it to go. I may not live there for the rest of my life, but temporarily is possible. New goal, move there by the time I am 25. I have no choice but to do this. This is the time for me to make things happen. Time to bust my ass and get that money!

2 thoughts on “Why Not Just Move?”

Leave a Reply

